Author Topic: Greetings from Pennsylvania!  (Read 509 times)

Avalon Skyboat

• Deck Hand
Greetings from Pennsylvania!
« on: February 01, 2022, 06:52:06 am »
Hey there fellow steampunkers, the name's Doug and I hail from Northwestern Pennsylvania in the US of A.

(sorry if I missed a dedicated board for introductions, I didn't see one after a cursory look so I figured I would post here).

I am new to the steampunk culture but so far I've found that it's filled with many other misfits, much like myself. I have many passions but probably most pertinent here is my interest in live steam. I operated a 27-foot steam launch until last year when I lost her in a barn fire. The hull is shot but I'm planning to remove the engine and restore it, then install it in either another boat hull or perhaps build a custom steam vehicle (like a horseless carriage) around it. The boiler will have to be restored and re-tubed, or I may just scrap it and buy another one.

Anyway, really looking forward to learning a lot here! ~ Doug S.
"Would you rather land now, or in the dark?" ~ Martha King

von Corax

• Squire of the Lambda Calculus
  • Administrator
  • Master Tinkerer
  • Prof. Darwin Prætorius von Corax
Re: Greetings from Pennsylvania!
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2022, 10:46:00 am »
Hello, Doug, and welcome!

We do actually have an "Introduce Yourself" thread under Metaphysical, but this is good too.

I envy you your steam launch, and hope you will share her restoration with us.

Regards,
Prof. Darwin Prætorius von Corax
By the power of caffeine do I set my mind in motion
By the Beans of Life do my thoughts acquire speed
My hands acquire a shaking
The shaking becomes a warning
By the power of caffeine do I set my mind in motion
The Leverkusen Institute of Paleocybernetics is 5821 km from Reading

J. Wilhelm

• ╬ Admiral und Luftschiffengel ╬
  • Board Moderator
  • Immortal
  • Sentisne fortunatum punkus? Veni. Diem meum comple
    • NASA Dude