The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
May 19, 2019, 10:59:49 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What would/do you do when insulted for being Steampunk? By a stranger.  (Read 1802 times)
Captain Steele Tear
Deck Hand
United States United States

of the Airship "Skeleton Blue"

« on: June 14, 2018, 05:27:15 am »

To be clear, I don't wear goggles to work... yet! Nonetheless I was still insulted, at work, for being steampunk.
 I just started working at a restaurant that I worked at for five years but left six years ago. So, I'm comfortable there but still new to almost everyone. It has an open kitchen, meaning all the food is made in front of the whole restaurant, and I'm a saute chef. We have a shelf above the station with a bluetooth speaker on it that faces the chefs so we can listen to music while we work. The servers tend to hang out there, and listen to the music, when their not busy. A couple of the servers, apparently, feel entitled to choose what music is played, even though it's always controlled by a chef's phone, mostly because they 'batted their eyes' and 'shook their tails' at a couple of the younger single chefs. The general rule of thumb, however, is that whichever chef starts work the earliest has control of the speaker; we have staggered shifts.