The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
February 27, 2021, 07:32:36 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Got invited to a steampunk ball... help!  (Read 1822 times)
Desidus
Deck Hand
Canada Canada

« on: May 24, 2014, 01:30:37 am »

Hey guys.. I got invited to a steampunk ball. Really cool but I have never done any Steampunk stuff before.

I am looking for cheap/thrifty as I don't have a ton of disposable income at the current moment and this is kinda last minute as the ball is on the 31st of this month.

I managed to get a grey flat cap($10) and a brown vest ($3) But honestly I don't really know if they are even truly steampunk era. LOL. I hope so. I have a pair of tall steel toes that I am thinking of modding a bit to make them look interesting. They are fairly light in color which I am not too happy about but with my short time period I am not sure there is much I can do about it at this point. Also pants... I am not really sure what to wear for this... I hear that pleats weren't worn in this time period. Most of the pants I have seen around have pleats. I am currently making my masquerade mask (going for a steampunk owl mask.. turning out well so far) oh and I am just planning on wearing a black dress shirt I have in the closet. I was thinking maybe a grey pair of dress pants to go with...

Any simple suggestions? I will try to get a picture of everything I have on tomorrow so you can see how much trouble I may be in.
Corroded Alloy
Zeppelin Admiral
Wales Wales

JacobTheunissen
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2014, 01:43:41 am »

A Steampunk ball? In the Cayman Islands?