The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
March 04, 2021, 03:19:27 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Corset Troubles  (Read 963 times)
KittiwakeKlocks
Deck Hand
United States United States

« on: March 16, 2014, 10:25:51 pm »

I'm going to preface this with saying I'm very new to the Steam Punk world, but I'm hoping to delve further into it.  In my scoping of female steam punk fashions, it seems like corsets are very popular in their outfits. However, I have some bad damage to my ribs due to stupidity and binding with the wrong materials. My question is- How important are corsets to the steam punk fashion? Could I get away with steam punk outfits without them? Or could I wear underbust corsets with minimal pain? I could wear them not so tight, but that probably wouldn't look as aesthetic. Any tips or opinions on how I can get away with not having a corset?
grimnir
Zeppelin Captain
Australia Australia

Maker of fine Leathercrafts

« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 11:35:11 pm »

You absolutely do NOT need corsets to be Steampunk Smiley

Corsets are very popular but they are certainly not essential wear.

Kindest regards, Raven

ForestB
Zeppelin Admiral

Lady of the copper frogs

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 11:39:46 pm »

Being female, and not being in favor of limited movement, I tend toward waistcoats in most of my steamy outfits. It is mostly because while I own corsets and can wear corsets, I like to be able to bend and it is easier to wrangle my kids when not corseted...there is no one way to do steampunk, ask three steampunks there definition of the genre, you will get five different answers...

Please take a look at my website, see what I create...