The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
January 17, 2021, 01:09:02 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Greetings from the late-victorian Cruiser, USS Olympia  (Read 3973 times)
CruiserNo6
Swab

United States United States

« on: February 22, 2014, 09:53:21 pm »

Hello All!

My name is Kevin, and though I am not exactly a Steampunk in terms of what I wear or say, I certainly may be classified as one in what I do.

I am an employee for the Independence Seaport Museum in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (USA), and in college, I studied industrial and military history as it developed from the 19th to mid-20th Century.  That being said, I am a living history member and preservation worker aboard the Ex-USS Olympia - possibly the most "steampunk" ship here in the United States. I can certainly say I've had my fair share of dreams about steam engines, brass gauges, and rivets.

The Olympia was built in 1892, served from 1895 until 1922 as a dedicated Flagship of several squadrons, and is considered the Oldest steel warship afloat today. She was built in the very beginning of the US Navy's development of the "New Steel Navy," the first ship of that Navy being built in 1883.  The Olympia, then, contains technology dating back to the 1880s and early 1890s (with the exception of some upgrades for World War 1) and certainly does not lack in Victorian influence.

The amount of bronze, brass, and wood used in this ship is pretty astonishing. Our officers quarters, captain's stateroom, and admiral's stateroom are all clad in wood and brass. The decks are all wood (on top of steel).