The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
March 09, 2021, 08:08:06 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tails - what is your opinion?  (Read 1047 times)
Susannah
Gunner
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: February 20, 2014, 06:44:25 pm »

Ok - I am thinking of getting some tails which would look good with my vintage jodphurs but also could be used as dress tails as if I was an orchestral musician.

The question is do I go for double breasted equestrians tails, or single breasted morning suit ? It would be good to just have one which would do both.

But I can't decide which way to do it? I have found cheap green morning suit, which would probably look quite nice on lady - not being black. (Though it is a mans) or a black dark navy double breasted equestrian - meant for a lady.

What do you reckon?

Susannah
Argus Fairbrass
Rogue Ætherlord
England England

So English even the English don't get it!

« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 07:54:18 pm »

They're both great, and I believe both can come in single or double breasted styles, but they do different jobs. Morning (Newmarket) coats, as the name suggests were traditionally day wear like frock coats. The cutaway tails were evening wear, or became so during the later C19th anyway.

I guess the compromise would be the cutaway daywear coat of the Beau Brummel era (if you can acquire one).

If you're in the mood for a long dry read about all this, these guys often deliver that in spades. Cheesy

http://www.cutterandtailor.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=3350

Have her steamed and brought to my tent!
Keith_Beef
Snr. Officer
France France

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 12:03:41 am »