The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
March 04, 2021, 04:55:34 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Story attempt, critique and suggestions wanted  (Read 1319 times)
Pantaleon
Gunner
Germany Germany

« on: July 20, 2013, 02:29:49 pm »

Greetings, I am a hobbyist writer and I am currently working on my first steampunk story. Here is the first chapter:

http://pathosglasbeard.deviantart.com/art/The-Bodacious-Travels-of-Dr-Anthony-Parston-I-350159281

I hope the prologue will be done in a few weeks.

I am not quite sure about the title yet, but that problem will probably solve itself sooner or later: "The Chronicles of Dusk", "The Petroleum Wars", "The Bodacious Travels of Dr Anthony Parston" or maybe something different still.

Now for the setting:
It's an alternate History story set in 1888 with two changes, but I am trying to keep it realistic. This means no magic or Martians.

Firstly, the American Revolution of 1775 failed. The British Empire prevented a secession of its colonies by granting them more autonomy and a few representatives in the House of Lords and the House of commons. France also still owns Louisiana and large parts of Canada
The most important of the American Colonies is the "British Crown Dependency of Dusk" which is the same as our California. Dusk is San Francisco. Its importance comes from the many recently discovered oil fields in the area. This new source of energy draws many inventors and fortune hunters to Dusk, turning the city both into a center of technological progress and crime.

Secondly, there is a new continent in the North Pacific: Mu.