The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
August 19, 2018, 08:26:03 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Victorian grammar Nazi  (Read 731 times)
CPT_J_Percell
Board Moderator
Zeppelin Captain
England England

The werewolf Airship Captain.

« on: June 12, 2013, 08:43:05 pm »

Victorian grammar Nazi

I have an odd question.

Would a Victoria have used the following phrase?

I am a twenty something student of ...

I suffer from a random misfiring synapse and a bad case of wolfen the turns me into a seven-foot-tall werewolf or a seven-foot great wolf!
https://dragon-rehoming-centre.myshopify.com/
http://purbry.wordpress.com
RJBowman
Zeppelin Captain

« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2013, 09:15:02 pm »

No.
Atterton
Time Traveler

Only The Shadow knows

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2013, 11:30:14 pm »

I doubt it.

Resurrectionist and freelance surgeon.
Lady Chrystal
Master Tinkerer
Wales Wales

Lady Adventurer, Chronicler

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2013, 11:34:45 pm »

"I am a young (wo)man, yet to reach thirty years of age, who currently studies assiduously in the area of..."

Sorry, they tended to be verbose by our standards and far more correct in their grammar.

"The Chrystal? Ah, now - that would be telling."
RJBowman
Zeppelin Captain

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2013, 11:42:16 pm »

The literature presented a formalized language style that I suspect was less common in real life conversations.
Narsil
Immortal
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2013, 12:07:26 am »