The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 23, 2017, 05:32:17 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Professional Mad Scientists of all kinds, unite!  (Read 12760 times)
Mr D. Sjöberg
Deck Hand

« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2007, 04:50:26 pm »

I have always thought of myself as a bit of a mad scientist, but seeing as how I am not in fact an actual scientist I suppose it is more of a feeling then an actuality in my case (I am a programmer by trade by the way)... Perhaps a description as a mad engineer would be more appropriate...

It is quite possible that it is all down to genes in my case (not that I would have it any other way). My grandfather was a farmer by trade, but an inventor at heart (and a quite mad one at that, or so I am told)...

Personally I was unfortunately a bit too young to experience his creations first hand, but when I was young I did take quite a lot of delight in hearing the stories about the things he got up to with gears, chains, ropes, counterweights and old engines in that barn of his. I particularly enjoyed the way that the teller of those stories usually told them while shaking his/her head with a general feeling of "that old coot sure was crazy"... (Apparently he was also a bit of a bastard, but that is completely beside the point)

No one were ever quite able to tell me exactly what his contraptions did, except that they were usually made to assist with the work around the farm (like loading and unloading hay for instance I would expect), but the general feeling of the thing were enough to captivate me and make me want to be just like him... eh... Except perhaps for the "being a farmer" and the "being a bastard" parts.