The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 14, 2018, 08:54:29 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Greetings, Fellow Human Beings!  (Read 929 times)
Aberrant23
Deck Hand
United States United States

« on: January 24, 2018, 11:48:01 pm »

Admittedly, I am new to the Steampunk genre. I've known of its existence for a number of years, but have largely ignored it in lieu of more traditional fantasy, science fiction, and horror projects. I've started looking at Steampunk more seriously lately, in part due to curiosity and wanting to broaden my horizons, and in part because I've recently begun reading The Aeronaut's Windlass by Jim Butcher, which has helped pique my interest on the subject.

Anyways, long story short, I am an aspiring author, and I think a steampunk setting would be the perfect backdrop to a sci-fi/fantasy series I've been developing over the last several years. It's still got some ruffles, so to speak, but I think it's got some potential.

As mentioned before, I am not all that terribly familiar with the steampunk aesthetic, especially when it comes to my writing, so I'm here mostly to meet some other steampunk enthusiasts and do some research on the subject. I'm primarily looking to make a world that feels true to the aesthetic. What did people dress like, what did they eat, what did they do for fun, what kind of technology did the common man have access to in his day-to-day life, that sort of thing. My knowledge in history is sadly lacking, so I'm literally building on a foundation of nothing aside from perhaps some exposure via television and movies.

I look forward to making some new friends and learning more about this literary aesthetic and subculture. Smiley
Synistor 303
Officer
Australia Australia