The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
April 25, 2018, 06:33:01 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do you describe Steampunk clothes?  (Read 551 times)
Kleven
Swab

United States United States

« on: January 02, 2018, 10:55:04 am »

I type in 'steampunk girls' or 'steampunk boys' and I see various outfits, but these differ from victorian outfits or edwardian outfits. Are there terms for the vests and puffy shirts?
Kensington Locke
Officer

« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2018, 03:18:00 pm »

I'm no clothing expert, but take yourself over to Steampunk Emporium.  It's an online clothing store.  No, I ain't shilling for them,

Browse around.  Look at the stuff and what they call it.  Read the blurbs explaining the origin.

It's not just a shop, it's a museum. Smiley
J. Wilhelm
╬ Admiral und Luftschiffengel ╬
Board Moderator
Immortal

Sentisne fortunatum punkus? Veni. Diem meum comple

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2018, 06:45:43 pm »

So what makes clothing Steampunk, I guess is what you would have to think about. Unfortunately, when you type Steampunk you will first see all the commercial stuff with glued cogs and gears, or see all the sexy girls wearing mini bustles. Nothing wrong with that, but I prefer to describe Steampunk clothing as Victorian inspired clothing with a heavy dose of Science Fiction. In fact it does not have to be British Victorian. It can be American (eg Western) or Japanese (eg Meïji Era) or Mexican (eg Revolución Era) or German (eg Franco Prussian War period), or whatever suits your fancy. That means you can look for 19th century style clothing and modify it yourself, for a rather convincing Steampunk look. Otherwise you might find yourself buying really poor quality stuff - with a few gears attached.