The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 11, 2017, 02:17:57 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Steampunk Novels/Writing - Likes and Dislikes  (Read 964 times)
NoirMagus
Deck Hand
New Zealand New Zealand

« on: September 29, 2016, 08:34:48 pm »

I've completed one steampunk novel and am in the process of writing my second. I am fairly new to the genre and I'd be interested to hear what other readers and writers like and dislike. Either particular novels or story elements, or styles of writing, or pretty much any other thoughts. I'm keen to learn.
Cora Courcelle
Snr. Officer
England England

« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2016, 05:40:23 pm »

I dislike stories where the hero/heroine is obviously the author (or how the author would like to be perceived).
Another dislike - trilogies that are really only one book but have been chopped up so I have to buy all three to get the finish of the story.*
(That doesn't mean I don't enjoy sequels or series of books, but each story should be able to stand alone even though it may reference other works).

*The one exception to this that I can think of is 'The Lord of the Rings'.

You have to tread a fine line between avant-garde surrealism and getting yourself sectioned...
NoirMagus
Deck Hand
New Zealand New Zealand

« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2016, 08:44:08 pm »

Thanks Cora. I think many first novels tend to be a bit autobiographical - I guess people take the 'write what you know' adage a bit too much to heart.