The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 18, 2017, 11:53:16 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for advise on first character.  (Read 629 times)
Toledo
Deck Hand

« on: May 30, 2016, 08:06:33 am »

Hello everyone.
I am a steampunk newbie who has a first character in mind, but is unsure weather she is steampunk enough. She is a pharmaceutical assistant in a slightly dodgy but far from out of business pharmacy/surgery. She works for a mysterious man who she calls 'The Professor'. He makes all the medicine in the back room, which she is rarely allowed in. When she is, she has to wear goggles. She doesn't like to think why. The pharmacy is full of snakes, floor to ceiling, all looking at her all day long. She shudders to think what they are even for. Other than that, her life contains a couple of steampunk cliches such as strange inventions (with a medical, rather than military theme) and a general steampunk aesthetic of waistcoats, collar pins, frosted glass brown jars all around the shop, and general brass/other generic metal machinery.

Thank you very much for reading my somewhat lengthy post. I would be very happy if you would give your opinion on it and maybe suggest some ways to improve it, especially to make it more steampunk. Thank you.
qui est in literis
Zeppelin Admiral
United States United States

Who Art In Letters

quiestinliteris
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2016, 04:57:48 pm »

...steampunk enough.

That right there is your only mistake!  Cheesy Your character is yours, and  your steampunk is yours, and "steampunk enough" is whatever works for you.

Personally, I quite like the creeper snakes.