The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 17, 2017, 03:05:12 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Source for dolls? BJDs or latex, etc (for creating dressing dolls)  (Read 495 times)
mizzarrogh
Gunner
Sweden Sweden

« on: May 27, 2016, 04:18:48 pm »

I am totally new to this so i wonder where i can get affordable plastic dolls for creating my own designed dressing dolls, etc

I hawe found some expensive but wery beautiful Japanese ones, unfortunatly i can not afford lot of them at the moment, no matter how much i want them, but i hawe seen some cheaper chinese dolls that looks a bit the same way, does anyone here know more abot those?

Penny Lovelace
Deck Hand
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2016, 04:44:26 pm »

I adore BJDs, but the Japanese ones are so expensive! Have you heard of Monster High? They have a huge doll merchandise thing going on. I even had a few up until a year or two ago. They are ball jointed and pretty good quality. Widely available in toy shops and online for normal prices. I've seen some pretty awesome repainted versions in all sorts of styles. Just choose one you'd like for a base and get modding  Grin

Because they are so popular, people do clothing for them, too. Though it's always more fun to do your own! There is already a steampunky version anyway, as one of the characters is that way inclined. I'm pretty sure a quick seach of 'monster high steampunk doll' would bring it up.

They are by no means the beautiful BJD from the likes of Dollfie and LUTS, but they are pretty good BJD quality for a high street brand.
PM me if you like, I can link you to my pinterest BJD board. Hehe! Xx
Penny Lovelace
Deck Hand