The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 15, 2017, 07:32:26 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with starting workshop desk  (Read 538 times)
Hatter
Swab

United States United States

« on: May 12, 2016, 11:44:12 am »

Greetings everyone, let me start off saying that I am new to the DIY aspect of steampunk, and was wounding if any of you have any suggestions on a desk I could get to started with, as if right now I'm rather limited on my options

I could go to

office depot

Fry's electronics

Target

Or Fred myers (that is if they have desks at all, I think they do)
Your  suggestions are appreciated  Cheesy
Hektor Plasm
Zeppelin Captain
United Kingdom United Kingdom

All-Round Oddfellow.

« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 05:48:48 pm »

Hello and welcome!

I would say it depends what you want to do.

I have made a few good solid workbenches from interior doors- yes, the thin ply over cardboard honeycomb cheapo ones- an idea I saw in a ham radio book.
They are light but remarkably strong*, and can be held up on trestles, legs or battens on opposing walls, and have lots of area.

They will hold a small vice, with care in mounting, but I don't recommend using them to beat out armour plating...  Grin. With a frame underneath though, they will support an ex-mil radio that weighs around 100lb...

HP

"all die! o, the embarrassment."
H Plasm Esq. ICUE    Avatar by and with kind permission of Dr Geof. Ta!!

Some musings:-
http://hektorplasm.blogspot.co.uk/
Maets
Immortal

Gravatar

Airship Builder

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 06:25:33 pm »

Always worth checking goodwill and similar places first.

Lord Pentecost
Snr. Officer
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2016, 09:09:39 pm »