The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 19, 2017, 08:59:03 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Calling potential SP scooter pilots  (Read 1256 times)
Pilot
Deck Hand
Australia Australia

« on: April 27, 2016, 12:46:57 pm »

Calling potential SP Scooter Pilots!

I've bought a second hand Piaggio MP3 for building myself a Steam Punk scooter. My inspiration was Randy Grubbs Decopod series (Google deco pods). Thing is I've little experience with projects this big, though I do consider myself handy with tools. Is anyone interested in forming a group where we can exchange ideas and build ourselves a machine each though internet collaboration? (FYI I'm based in Brisbane if there are local members for hands on stuff)

Regards
Paul AKA Pilot
Pilot
Deck Hand
Australia Australia

« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 12:37:58 am »

This is the kind of thing I have in mind. These are DecoPods built by Randy Grubb.

So far I've got my doner bike and stripped the bodywork off. Not shown in this pic I have shortened and lowered the bars and will remove the upper frame from the arse end, the top box bit.

selectedgrub
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2016, 07:58:35 am »

I have a long term motorbike project.
Pilot
Deck Hand
Australia Australia

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2016, 01:23:36 pm »

Tell me more Selectedgrub. What are you building on? Do you have a construction method planned out? Have you considered what design limitations your local Plod would consider street legal?

Paul
Miranda.T
Zeppelin Captain
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2016, 06:57:20 pm »

This is the kind of thing I have in mind. These are DecoPods built by Randy Grubb.