The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 17, 2017, 03:04:39 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Steampunk Katana Umbrella?  (Read 971 times)
J. Wilhelm
╬ Admiral und Luftschiffengel ╬
Board Moderator
Immortal
United States United States

Sentisne fortunatum punkus? Veni. Diem meum comple

« on: April 12, 2016, 08:09:57 pm »

Dear ladies, and esteemed gentlemen :

So I have been toting this large size (60 inch) umbrella for several months, as Winter and Spring tend to be wet months in Texas.  Having lost a smaller foldable one to high winds, I settled on a larger sturdier model by the company Rainbrella which also happens to be half the price of the collapsible type at my local super.   You know how this goes,  umbrellas  cone and go,  are broken or lost... I go through umbrellas like changing socks.

The  thing about this umbrella is that I love the coverage,  but it's about the length of a walking cane,  and if you don't wish to use it as such, as I often ride the bus, the only option is to strap it to my back pack and tote it between my back and the back pack. I take the Velcro strap and tie it to the upper strap of my back pack.

The problem with this umbrella, however, is that while sturdy, it will be damaged if you accidentally sit or step on it,  on account the shaft/rod I'd made from thin metal tubing.  I lost a black umbrella already,  after stepping on it and then breaking it while trying to unbend the shift.