The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 23, 2017, 03:49:41 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Veteran Writer - Newbie Steampunker - advice on some creative gadgets  (Read 721 times)
maxredford
Swab

« on: April 02, 2016, 05:57:30 am »

Umm . . . hi.  I know this is my first post I've ever made here and I'm starting off by asking for advice and for your time, and I do really, really hate that.   

But it is what it is. 

BUT!  I want to preface my inquiry: 

I am a serious author who is extremely versed in the craft of fiction. (Look my name up and read what I've written, prose and personal).

I'm a huge Lovecraft fan and personally prefer the ideologies of times gone by. 

But for some odd reason I've ignored the steampunk genre and culture -- thinking it too mainstream for my taste, maybe . . .

(My wife is going to be shocked to death when she finds out I'm here!)   

I'm succumbing to the awesome aesthetics of the steampunk genre and culture.

Anyways, lemme get on to what I'd like some insight on:   

A few weeks ago I just got the itch to write a light military-fantasy with airships and steam-powered era technology -- maybe some dieselpunk, but minimal.   

But I don't do historical. I prefer creating my own worlds and histories.   

I'm sorry, I apologize! I'm a loquacious one, I admit.   

So here's the scenario:   

There's a squad of troops who've been dropped into an enemy jungle and they've come under unexpected attack by the jungle itself. 

The MC in the story who is aboard the closest airship to the distressed squad has a plan to rescue the squad quicker -- cause the airship would move too slow, they need
quicker-moving troops . . .