The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 18, 2017, 11:29:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A very delicate parasol restoration, fixing a spoke  (Read 552 times)
Madam Takara
Snr. Officer
England England

Lady Aveline Tamara Claudia Read III... or Madam T

« on: March 31, 2016, 04:37:34 pm »

Hello all.

Not too long ago, I found a wonderful project lying gathering dust in a bridgenorth antique shop. Another parasol! This one is particularly special though, and even older than my last one. I am still learning to date my parasols, but it's tall and rather wide, looks as if it used to have a pagoda shape, and the stitching appears to have ALL been done by hand, and the spokes appear to be bone (I'm going to guess whale bone) instead of metal, making us think it's rather an early one. The chap in the shop seemed to think it was an 1850's, but I think I'll have to consult some books and the old internet before I know.

You can see why I want to save the poor thing.