The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 17, 2017, 01:54:05 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hats for steampunk mycologist  (Read 1504 times)
Pileus Copperstipe
Deck Hand
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: March 28, 2016, 08:57:47 pm »

Hi, steampunk forum,

I'm new to steampunk. I was told to come up with a persona to base my clothes on, so I came up with a mycologist called Dr. Pileus Copperstipe. Thus far I want to have is a leather lab coat, some gloves, some high boots, and a breathing mask. I also want to have a tank that appears to be pumping fluid into my neck, and a load of mushrooms in bottles all over my clothes, as well as a water tank with a pump to feed them. The thing I'm stuck on is that I want somewhere for mushrooms to grow from, either a hat, or shoulder pads or something. What do you guys think? What should I go with? What type? Recommend any shops?

Thanks for reading.
Cora Courcelle
Snr. Officer
England England

« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 10:33:20 pm »

Dear Dr Copperstripe

A persona may make it easier to decide what you want to wear, but it's by no means necessary.  Many find the persona will evolve and change over time, many never even think about it - too busy enjoying being a steampunk, so don't get too hung up on 'what should I be wearing'.  It sounds to me as if you've got some interesting ideas so why not play about making a few different things and see which works best? 
If you like the idea of a hat have you considered a bowler, then maybe things could be growing in the brim? And you can get a cheap one from just about any fancy dress shop.

Regards
Cora Courcelle