The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 21, 2017, 07:48:23 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Creating Mad Scientist steampunk outfit  (Read 3668 times)
CrazyLee
Deck Hand
United States United States

« on: February 07, 2016, 02:42:52 am »

So, I'm a bit new to this steampunk cosplay thing. I have some cons coming up I'd like to be dressed for, and what better way to get something done than the pressure of a deadline!

In any case, I am curious to how the people here would go about creating a Mad Scientist persona (besides the evil laughter and crazy experiments, of course), and making the outfit be as steampunk as possible.

I have a feeling I'd get a lot of suggestions to get one of those white lab coats, the kind that famous mad scientists like Dr. Horrible, Dr. Steel, and Dr. Frankenstein donned. The one that's white, goes to your knees or lower legs, and drapes across the chest, buttoning along the shoulder and down the side front. That kind of lab coat is known as a Howie lab coat. It was common years ago, but not used extensively nowadays. It's impossible to find one in the US, but I have seen modern versions on European websites (with snaps rather than big awesome buttons). Throw some goggles on and it's done.

I would rather NOT go that route. For the simple fact that it's not exactly steampunk enough, even though such a howie coat would fit great in any steampunk setting. It's just that the coat itself doesn't say steampunk, and would require accessories to make it so.

So, other ideas. I have some ideas of my own, and I've seen one or two things online. But, while I gather my thoughts and figure things out, I appreciate feedback and ideas from others.