The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 17, 2017, 01:32:38 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Your Favorite 19th Century Painting  (Read 4555 times)
Banfili
Zeppelin Captain
Australia Australia

« Reply #25 on: October 05, 2015, 12:35:27 pm »

GCCC, I can't give you a rational explanation, just that there is something in it that speaks to me. I am a painter myself, semi-abstract to abstract colourist, and there is a touch of both in the painting.
Banfili
Zeppelin Captain
Australia Australia

« Reply #26 on: October 05, 2015, 12:38:45 pm »

Caledonian, I have the first of the books - loved it, and put the others on my 'To Get' list for someday. A big Imperial dragon, if memory serves me!
Caledonian
Zeppelin Admiral
Netherlands Netherlands

the dragon's called Salmacis

« Reply #27 on: October 05, 2015, 01:28:47 pm »

Caledonian, I have the first of the books - loved it, and put the others on my 'To Get' list for someday. A big Imperial dragon, if memory serves me!

no idea XD I read the dutch copies, names of species are different then

"Crazy pseudo-scot living in a fantasy world"
pakled
Zeppelin Captain
United States United States

Minions Local 305, at your thervice!

« Reply #28 on: October 05, 2015, 05:17:57 pm »

Yeah, Thomas Cole, and I do like the whole series. The ones I saw were at the Smithsonian in DC. Though the 3rd one was also used on (showing my age...Wink a Kansas album cover

I just like Mucha in general, it would be hard to pick a favorite. I like Escher too, but that's way outside the parameters here...Wink I once had a coffee table book of Mucha, but lawd knows where it got off to...:|
Caledonian
Zeppelin Admiral
Netherlands Netherlands

« Reply #29 on: October 05, 2015, 06:14:31 pm »