The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 21, 2017, 10:17:22 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I modify this jacket?  (Read 1150 times)
josecou
Snr. Officer
United States United States

« on: August 09, 2015, 10:09:27 pm »

Hello all. Recently, I put together a steampunk mad hatter costume for a banquet hosted by my school. I thought it turned out all right, but now that I have more time, I'd like to improve it.

The main thing I thought would improve it would be changing the style of jacket. The cut is a bit too modern for a steampunk costume. I'd like to try and modify it somehow. Unfortunately I'm not too good at sewing, so I'd prefer to keep that at a minimum. Thanks!
Hurricane Annie
Zeppelin Captain
New Zealand New Zealand

« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2015, 04:19:59 am »

I

It is a splendid jacket , in an attractive  shape of purple.

whether you wish to jazz it up in a burlesque  / vaudeville way   or  out fit it in military style;  accessorising could be the answer to a Steampunk revamp.  Epaulettes for the shoulders.  Metal buttons on the pockets and or cuffs . Gold braid or ribbon  around the lapel. Officer stripes on the  arms, medals .

josecou
Snr. Officer

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2015, 05:23:08 pm »

Thank you! I was actually lucky enough to get it for a dollar! I'll be on the lookout for accessories and such. Thanks for the tip!
frances
Zeppelin Captain
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2015, 11:22:32 pm »

Is that your waistcoat I see peeping out below the jacket?  or torn pocket linings?
river rat
Gunner

Gambler. Grave Robber. All around fun guy.

« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2015, 09:40:35 am »