The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 23, 2017, 04:28:42 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Leather steampunk armour  (Read 938 times)
milamber
Deck Hand
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: August 08, 2014, 10:26:01 pm »

I'm fairly new to sewing and leatherwork. I've completed a few earlier steampunk clothing projects, but wanted to try something a little more ambitious so have had a bash at some airship pirate armour for my wife. The leather was all kindly donated by a 1950's Finnish greatcoat I bought from Ebay for about £5. I prefer to re-use old clothes than buy new material. It's greener and cheaper!

First time riveting, making patterns and actually making something more or less to measure . It's not perfect by any means, but I'm quite pleased with it. Appreciate any comments - good or bad Smiley

Maets
Immortal
United States United States

Gravatar

Airship Builder

« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 12:21:01 am »

Looks good to me.  Nice use of an old coat.

Prof Thadeus Q. Wychlock
Zeppelin Admiral

What Watt ?!

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 06:40:22 am »

I have to agree with my learned colleague Maets.
Looks excellent to me too Smiley

"In a world whose only quarrel with instant gratification is that it takes too long, we are practitioners of a dying art: patience."
Abracabella
Deck Hand

All stars are there to shine!

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2014, 11:40:49 am »

I am also new to leatherwork, but am now a bit obsessed!

I think this is absolutely beautiful and shows originality and appreciation of fine detailing. Please make some more things - you have a real talent for this!  Grin

Cogs and wheels and sprockets and springs