The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 22, 2017, 02:10:37 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ideas for my new tutoring project!  (Read 821 times)
Abracabella
Deck Hand
United Kingdom United Kingdom

All stars are there to shine!

« on: July 28, 2014, 09:38:41 am »

I seem to be starting a lot of threads - probably because my questions are rather obscure!

Firstly, I am a private tutor with 30 pupils aged between three and eleven years; secondly, I need a new project to fuel their imaginations!

Last term we did '20th Century Britain' and in September we are doing 'Victorians and Edwardians'. A few of the parents want to me to cover science (I already teach them all maths and English) as a few need help with this subject.

I have loads of ideas about teaching this era (for obvious reasons), but I'd really like to collaborate with more Steampunks to ensure I inject something really special into these lessons. I want to make stuff with the children, see how things work, read about interesting scientists like Tesla and fuel them to WANT TO LEARN! My lessons are not like school and I teach what I think is interesting! Young children don't get anywhere near enough history tuition - I want to change this!

So, do you have any ideas for things I could incorporate into my sessions? Interesting photos would be great, as well as ideas!

Thank you,

Bel  Grin

Cogs and wheels and sprockets and springs
Metal and leather and beautiful things
Brass sculpted treasures, copper and lead
Your ideas are alive, though your century's dead

IvyGrey
Deck Hand
United States United States

« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 01:32:29 pm »