The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 17, 2017, 03:00:08 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wish me luck - performing 'Steampunk Style' today!  (Read 498 times)
Abracabella
Deck Hand
United Kingdom United Kingdom

All stars are there to shine!

« on: July 02, 2014, 09:01:58 am »

Hello,

I am quite new to this forum, but I thought I'd introduce myself properly by telling you a little bit about my day job!

I'm a private tutor and entertainer - often these merge more than one would imagine. I run my own businesses and enjoy being self-employed; working for yourself really is wonderful if you are a bit crazy!

Today I am performing as 'Clarabelle' (Victorian Magicienne) in front of 50 parents and children at a local lower school. I have been helping the year three pupils with their poetry and creative writing, and, along with my writer friend, I will be presenting what has been achieved! My friend thinks I am nuts, but I always feel more confident when I am Steampunk - psychologically speaking it is a facet of my personality that cannot always be shown (I can't really dress SP to all of my lessons and parties!) I want to tell the children - and parents - how important it is to 'be yourself', whilst showing them how you can even use your imagination and creativity when planning an outfit!

So, wish me luck guys - also, any advice would be great!

Bel  Grin

Cogs and wheels and sprockets and springs
Metal and leather and beautiful things
Brass sculpted treasures, copper and lead
Your ideas are alive, though your century's dead

Clym Angus
Zeppelin Admiral

Lord of Misrule

« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 12:24:01 pm »