The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 15, 2017, 06:44:13 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My 1st Steampunk Project  (Read 1370 times)
Ariadne Hyde
Deck Hand
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: June 24, 2014, 09:46:08 pm »

First off, I'm sorry if this isn't posted in the right place, I'm new to this.

I'm really throwing myself in the deep end with this project. Its hopefully going to be a Lernaean Hydra and its my twist on a thing in a jar!
I've already figured out how to make it move (hopefully) and what materials I'm using to structure and make the thing, but I have no idea what liquid to use in the jar. I'm putting a lot of work into it, so I would if possible like it to last forever.

Any ideas?

Thanks
von Corax
Squire of the Lambda Calculus
Immortal
Canada Canada

Prof. Darwin Prætorius von Corax

« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2014, 02:38:06 am »

I think it'll really depend on what materials you use. Latex absorbs water and swells, for instance, and other materials may or may not react poorly to ethanol, or glycerine, or sodium metabisulphite; some materials may bleed colour into the liquid, or take a stain from the liquid if you've coloured it.

You shouldn't have a problem with evaporation if you seal the vessel sufficiently, but keep in mind that (AFAIK) real specimens do get "topped up" occasionally. (Then again, if it's to be a proper Thinginajar you want to prevent people getting a really clear look at it.)

For more suggestions, slide on over to Propnomicon's blog; it's chock-full of both ideas and links to other resources.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2014, 02:40:39 am by von Corax » Logged

By the power of caffeine do I set my mind in motion
By the Beans of Life do my thoughts acquire speed