The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 16, 2017, 03:55:42 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Manners, Culture and Dress of the best American Society  (Read 1189 times)
Tommy_
Deck Hand
Netherlands Netherlands

Enlighten me

« on: February 19, 2014, 10:28:26 pm »

I'm new to steampunk, and I've just finished writing a simple essay on it for school.
While looking around on the internet I found this book (available as PDF on many sites), called Manners, Culture and Dress of the best American Society.
It was written in 1890ish, and has well over 500 pages. It seems to describe just about every form of social interaction, and how to act like a true lady/gentleman in this situation. I've only read the first 25 pages so far, but I'm fascinated, this is one of the things that seem to attract me most in Steampunk.
Of course it's outdated (giving a lady your seat because she is 'physically less capable of standing for a long time', would get you a slap nowadays), but I hope to learn from it Smiley

Has anyone read this?
Manners, Culture and Dress of the best American Society

Dameon Vitrum
^My steampunk name made by Nephele!
J. Wilhelm
╬ Admiral und Luftschiffengel ╬
Board Moderator
Immortal
United States United States

Sentisne fortunatum punkus? Veni. Diem meum comple

« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 12:18:47 am »