The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 16, 2017, 09:47:17 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: L200 Foam, Wonder flex, and heroic(of cosplay) materials  (Read 14395 times)
hardlec
Snr. Officer
United States United States

Solutions do not need Problems

« on: August 31, 2013, 04:46:32 am »

Watching Hero's of Cosplay and Face off I become jealous of the access to materials. 
Wonderflex seems to be a sheet of friendly plastic. it looks like it is easy to use, but very pricy. I have not found a retailer and I don't like to buy over the internet when I have no idea what I'm buying.

L200 seems to be a generic name for Darice(r) Foamie (r).  I have had some experience with this, but I have never tried to heat it to shape it. That seems worth an experiment or two risking a couple bucks worth of material. bigger sheets and thicker material could be very useful, if I can shape the material.

I have never been able to cut foam precisely, I think it might make safe prop blades, but I can't bevel it.

I have seen tutorials where the foam is embossed by using a ballpoint pen.  My embossing disappears by the next morning.

If there are people out there who have used L200, I would like your feedback.

Whatever happens we have got
The Maxim gun and they have not;
Technology is no substitute for Valor
Both are true.
Professor J. Cogsworthy
Zeppelin Captain

Aude Aliquid Dignum

« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2013, 03:16:51 pm »

Look into http://www.tri-dee.com/sintra_plastic_pvc.htm also

No, no no, a thousand times no. Its pronounced - lah-BOHR-ah-tor-ee
hardlec
Snr. Officer

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2013, 02:33:54 pm »