The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 16, 2017, 07:39:38 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Inspired by the Galloping Geese post - some Steam Railroad Anachrony (pics)  (Read 2559 times)
HAC
Steam Theologian
Zeppelin Overlord
Canada Canada

HAC_N800
« on: March 06, 2007, 07:58:20 pm »

The Galloping Geese post got me digging through my collection of pics.
First off, though, I can answer the question of "what would happen if we tried this"
I'm a retired railroader with 33 years of railroad service under the belt, (and I have some steam experience, to boot)
If you tried to joyride the rials, there are a few shortcomings:
 - jail and or heavy fines - railroad trespass is a federal felony offense.
 - possible (probable) death or injury - This results usually from the fact that dispatchers and crews will not know you're there, and you will not be in the rails communication loop. The light at the end of the tunnel you just decided to explore is attached to the front of a 200 ton loco, attached to a 12,000 ton grain drag, all moving towards you at 40mph+.  Even nowadays, maintenance crews using the current equivalent of those geese (called Hi-Rail trucks) are protected by a dispatch order called a Track Occupancy Permit. No trains can use that track section, until the Maintenace folks are verified clear of it.
 On to the pics..

Some more track vehicles:

A hand powered track velocipede:
(preserved in Windsor Station, Montreal)

More converted autos, (supervisor and inspection vehicles)

And some of railroading's 'Dark Satanic Mills"

Hope you found those entertaining.. Also, any RR questions, fire away, will be glad to answer..

Cheers
Harold