The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 11, 2017, 11:54:17 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help: repairing glass  (Read 993 times)
Adelaide Blake
Officer
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: November 16, 2012, 09:12:27 pm »

I have a glass dip pen, and today it split very neatly in two. I need to put the two parts back together, and as far as I can describe, it's a ball and socket kind of thing, but with a small area of contact. If anyone could give me advice on how to do this I would be ever so appreciative, bearing in mind I am a humble student and can't afford anything extravagant. Thanks in advance

Lady of the modern era. Historian in training. Seamstress.
Ravenson
Officer
United States United States

« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2012, 09:38:43 pm »

Start by posting a picture if you can.   If the glass broke you are going to have a hard time fixing it so it works if it is the type of pen I am thinking of.

JJ
Adelaide Blake
Officer

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2012, 10:02:05 pm »

I hope these photos work...my internet certainly doesn't. Anyway, it's a break in the stem of the pen, not the nib, I can still write with it now, it's just a bit short, like a worn down pencil. I have never repaired glass items before, being more of a wood or fabric sort of person, so I don't know what to use to get the stem back in one piece

**EDIT by Mod (Siliconous Skumins) to correct URLs for pictures.   Smiley   **
« Last Edit: November 17, 2012, 12:41:10 am by Siliconous Skumins » Logged
George Salt
Zeppelin Captain

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2012, 01:02:31 am »