The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 22, 2017, 11:41:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Worth the effort?  (Read 2074 times)
king of diamonds
Gunner
New Zealand New Zealand

« on: March 08, 2012, 09:13:14 am »

I found this old watch at the local flea market for $20
From around 1950( I think) Jupiter Model A, size 12. Basically what the layman thinks when you say "pocket watch"

Has not had a good life: currently not working, missing a hand and (i think) a broken mainspring. All and all, poor condition.

I have never tried repairing watches before, reckon its worth trying to fix? If not I may just gut the thing and get out some gears =( though that would be an ignoble end for a watch...

If you don't think its likely I will be able to find a replacement would it be possible to put in a cheap Chinese movement? Also, regardless of what I am doing I will need to get it apart. Where could I find or, preferably, make  screwdrivers that small (I live in New Zealand so I am unlikely to find anything locally and buying from the US is akward at best) filing microdrivers?

Sorry about the lack of pics, my phone has just decided it hates my computor and won't connect. Shouldn't really be needed, standard swiss movement. Jeweled bearings etc. If you think there may be other things wrong tell me and I will list symptoms and detailed pics
Abslomrob
Deck Hand
Canada Canada

« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, 05:03:27 pm »