The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
July 21, 2019, 12:01:59 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What is the punk in Steampunk.  (Read 13547 times)
Jaynee sims
Swab

England England

« on: September 29, 2011, 02:46:46 pm »

Im new to this so please forgive me if I say anything silly.Ok here I go.

I can understand the whole Steam thing in Steampunk ,all retro looking tech etc. But what about the punk element,whats that about. I dont quite get it I can see the punk ethos in some areas making and so on.But in others events sometimes look really corporate all money based.Im cofused.
Larcen
Deck Hand
United Kingdom United Kingdom

Gravatar

Married with 2 air Pirates in training

« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2011, 02:59:35 pm »

Steampunk (the name for the Genre not the genre its self) was spun from Cyberpunk although much of the works classed as Steampunk clearly predate this they had no collective name at the time, Cyberpunk was first used as a title for a short story where the word "punk" refered to a "change in social order" in the plot. so its pretty safe to assume it has similar meaning in Steampunk.

so in short Steam (technology) Punk (Society and structure)

Who are you people and what are you doing with my cogs!
Mécanicien de Vapeur
Zeppelin Captain

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2011, 03:01:42 pm »

The 'Punk' element refers mainly to the DIY ethic that runs strong through the heart of steampunk, people having a go and sharing ideas, rather than be led from the centre.