The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 21, 2017, 03:13:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A greenhorn's question regarding prop guns....  (Read 5067 times)
Gunslinger67
Deck Hand
United States United States

Guerrilla Machinist

« on: April 15, 2011, 04:59:46 pm »

Greetings and salutations....what a wonderful site you folks have here .

After finishing Cherie Priest's Dreadnought , I have been officially hooked on the 'steampunk' genre of fiction and it's style.

I'm about 12 pages or so into the very interesting thread entitled "A Collective Thread for All Them Guns" , and I am curious what the site's consensus  is regarding 'functioning weapons' ?

I am a 44 year old machinist and amateur home gunsmith . I have a replica 1847 Walker Colt blackpowder revolver that I have been wanting to modify in the 'Steampunk' theme.

Nothing that I intend to do will be illegal ( at least in this country) and I , of course , have no illicit intents with the finished piece , other than to enjoy it at my home range here in the deep dark woods of Maine.

As a huge fan of the (sadly) canceled series "Firefly" , and having a love of Mal's handgun , I have long wanted to build / modify an existing antique revolver to something vaguely similar in style to his.  The Walker I own is a prime candidate, at least in my own humble opinion . The first thing I intend to do is obtain a Kurst cartridge conversion to enable it to fire 45 Long Colt with blackpowder loads ......from there it would be a 'make-it-up-as-I-go-along' approach , a style that I find comfortable to work with .