The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 24, 2017, 07:05:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to power a backpack?  (Read 969 times)
roytheodd
Gunner
United States United States

« on: October 28, 2010, 09:11:00 pm »

I want to make a box with moving parts. I want gauges with moving needles. I want gears that turn. I want lights to flash and flicker.

I know how to work with wood and I have some metal working experience, and if it matters I also know a bit of leather working, but I know only the bare minimum of electricity or other sources of power. How do people power their gizmos and how do I safely duplicate their efforts?

A few examples of what I have in mind:
How do I make gears turn? I know the clockwork method, but I’m hoping for an electrical means. Is it as simple as finding a small battery-operated motor? And if so, then how do I make a handy power switch? (Yes, I am that primitive)

How do I make use a trigger to increase or decrease the power going to one of my devices? Specifically, if I want the ability to curl my finger around a trigger to make lights light brighter.

How do I attach gauges to these things to give meaningless measurements that look cool? I would suppose it depends upon the gauge. Are there any that are better than others for the sorts of projects above?

What sorts of power supplies does everyone else use and where can I get a beginner's lesson on the subject?
Narsil
Immortal
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2010, 09:44:51 pm »

Generally electricity is the most convenient power source for portable devices as its reasonably safe at low voltages and modern batteries give good power density.