The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 11, 2017, 04:29:13 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Info needed: sub-zero resin/casting  (Read 1115 times)
quatch
Deck Hand
Canada Canada

« on: October 05, 2010, 08:24:49 pm »

Hi guys, I need a spot of help for some actual science. I'm a grad student studying snow, and I'd love to be able to cast a volume of snow for structure analysis. Since I've never done anything like this before, I don't know where to start, and I figure you folk are much better informed about this than I am.

Does anyone know of a resin (or similar thing) that could be poured and set below freezing?

The ideal process would be: at the field site, section a small volume of snow (say a 5-10cm diameter, ~50cm long cylinder with a piece of pvc pipe), pour in some sort of resin, allow to cure. In lab, saw in half, melt out/remove snow, do science on the shape of the hollows.

Snow is actually quite hollow and well connected, but will obviously melt if the resin is at all warm.

Any advice at all is welcome.
Herr Döktor
Gadgeteer, Contraptionist, and Inventor, FVSS
Governor
Master Tinkerer
United Kingdom United Kingdom

Herr Döktor, and friend.

« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2010, 09:28:00 pm »

Hmmm, difficult one: most resins, urethanes especially, are exothermic- ie. they 'evolve' heat as part of the curing process; polyester resins, conversely, tend to need some warmth to 'kick' them into curing; even silicone rubber will need some heat to aid the catalytic reaction...

So, no, not sure: oh, hang on, possibly something like alginate might work- maybe someone else knows more about it...

Narsil
Immortal

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2010, 10:15:41 pm »