The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 22, 2017, 12:25:19 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: how to form leather?  (Read 44488 times)
draxthedestroyer
Officer
United States United States

« on: August 28, 2010, 05:35:08 am »

I am new to leather working. I got my first piece yesterday. Anywho how do I form the leather so its hard and holds shape.
Dorian Ambrose
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2010, 06:16:43 am »

There are many ways to form and harden leather. Which technique to use, depends on the leather in question and the result you want.

The simplest way is water hardening.
Simply soak your leather in water for about 15 minutes. You can now stretch and form it. Makes sure it is held in place while drying (a proper mold is the best solution).
When it is dry, it will hold the shape.

The temperature of the water is the main factor here. The warmer it is, the harder the leather will be. But the warmer it gets, the more difficult it becomes to control. At certain temperatures the leather will dry very hard and brittle, which generally is not a good thing. This happens at different temperatures depending on the type of leather.
I would recommend that you stick with cold water to begin with and experiment from there.

For armour, I have often used wax as well.
The simplest way is to take a piece that has been water hardened and place it in the oven (150-200 C usually works for me, but other people may have different experiences). Keep an eye on it.