The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 22, 2017, 03:58:26 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: "The Dreameater" - Breakdown of a NERF Maverick  (Read 8318 times)
JonnyPhoenyx
Deck Hand
United States United States

Did somebody say...."Shiny?"

« on: June 09, 2010, 04:07:05 pm »

Hi guys. I'm a steampunk newbie (like most of the poster in how to) and have been looking around for a gun to make. I decide on the Maverick simply b/c there are lots of references to tutorials and past projects. (plus it's just a classic steampunk-esque gun)
I found this really awesome one called "The Dreameater"

Prof Cat Pardus' Blog

Youtube 360 view videoLQ | LQ+ | HQ | HQ+

I know it's advanced stuff that took around a year to make, but I'm just curious as to how y'all think certain aspects were accomplished. Specifcally:
1) the etched filigree on plastic and paint
2) how the barrel was modded to isolate the individual chambers

Any insights would be awesome!  Grin
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 04:10:46 pm by JonnyPhoenyx » Logged
JingleJoe
Zeppelin Overlord
United Kingdom United Kingdom

The Green Dungeon Alchemist

« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 06:05:01 pm »

Nerf guns, not steampunk scince 1984.

Green Dungeon Alchemist Laboratories
Providing weird sound contraptions and time machines since 2064.
arcwelder
Zeppelin Admiral

Reverse the polarity!

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 07:10:49 pm »

So my pipe-and-plunger model from 1982 is just fine then?

Mad repairman for the ship of the damned.

T.Taylor the Third
Zeppelin Admiral

A Crazy man

thethirdtea
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 07:19:21 pm »

wow that was fast joe

-“I warn you, if you bore me, I shall take my revenge.”