The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 12, 2017, 11:32:58 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I want to make something. but i never made anything handmade before.  (Read 4424 times)
toxickun
Officer
United States United States

« on: April 06, 2010, 06:44:49 am »

so tell me what can i make as a beginner :3. i want to work with only steam power.
i might not know where to get the material either so i hope you can help me with that too. . .
[oh and did i mention this is my first time making anything?]

...wth is a signature ._.
[sorry for my fail in grammar]
rovingjack
Zeppelin Admiral

« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2010, 09:20:43 am »

liar! I know you made macaroni noodle art when you were little for your mother in art class. So um, why don't you make another picture frame out of hardware instead. and whenyou got that worked out look at some of the other parts available in the hardware store and ponder what you could do with that.

sebastian Inkerman
Zeppelin Admiral
England England

scrounger and builder of mildly interesting stuff.

S_Inkerman
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2010, 11:49:43 am »

I would say that it is a trifle ambitious to work with steam when you have no experience of and resulting dangers relating to it. As Mr. Jack mentioned. Perhaps starting a little smaller would be a good idea. Make the picture frame, make a costume or an accessory. To be honest, it doesn't have to be "steam powered". You can work wonders with concealed electric motors to give the impression if the thing that you'd like to make needs to be "steam" driven. I would suggest that most people don't work with steam powered contraptions here, it's more about the finished look and the overall intent.