The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 22, 2017, 08:26:19 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How does one make a pair of Steampunk Goggles?  (Read 11019 times)
Viddick Rhade
Deck Hand
United States United States

« on: January 17, 2010, 01:30:35 am »

I've got a pair of black goggles that I want to give a more Steampunk look anyone got ideas? I'm pretty new to the genre so I've got only a few ideas. Sadly I don't have a means of showing you the goggles but some general tips at least would be nice.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2010, 02:02:36 am by Viddick Rhade » Logged
H. MacHinery
Zeppelin Captain

« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 02:04:52 am »

Brass-colored paint to highlight the raised areas, perhaps wood-finish veneer for the rest;  leather for the strap
JingleJoe
Zeppelin Overlord
United Kingdom United Kingdom

The Green Dungeon Alchemist

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2010, 02:22:26 am »

I'm guessing you have the simple black plastic welding goggles?
Plastic painted to look brass is ... not my cup of tea (to put it very lightly)

Why don't you try adding brass plates to the sides? Bolt them on and bobs your uncle, instantly steamier!

Green Dungeon Alchemist Laboratories
Providing weird sound contraptions and time machines since 2064.
Reni Valentine
Zeppelin Captain

see here, Gus - nobody chaperones the chaperone

Reni_Valentine
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2010, 02:49:20 am »