The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 18, 2017, 03:45:00 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: watches help needed - i got an early present  (Read 1392 times)
Prof. Sine Weevil
Snr. Officer
United Kingdom United Kingdom

« on: December 23, 2009, 10:36:15 pm »

hi all

i'm a long time lurker small time poster

recently i have been given by an elderly relative 3 silver pocket watches (im more concerned with, the history they were my great grandads) (im actualy not that fond of most precious metals, i think there too showy
Spoiler (click to show/hide)
)

however i'm new to horology and need some help

first can anyone identify them? age? a bit of history? anything you can tell me!
second how much do good quality watch repairs cost? vague question i know but one is missing a glass and the other may need repair.
third does any one know a good uk watch repairer? any tips on choosing one?...these are family treasures i'd rather save for ages and have a pukka job than hand it to someone who might bodge it!

i'm afraid i'm limited on time so hear is one please, excuse photo the light was fading and i couldent find the tripod more photos and watch's will follow later..
number one
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Cheers guys

Prof. Sine

"red to red and black to black, throw the switch and stand well back!"
Zwack
Zeppelin Admiral
United States United States

And introducing the wonderful Irish (Mrs Z).

« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2009, 02:32:57 am »

The photo didn't show up for me...

However good clear photos will certainly help date and guess the origin of the watches.