The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 22, 2017, 12:24:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SUCCESS! Searching for my first pocket watch...What I've learned.  (Read 7913 times)
Jacobi
Gunner
United States United States

« on: November 16, 2009, 12:11:50 am »

So it started with reading this forum and finding all the info here on pocket watches. I posted this in the master pocket watch thread:
I'm torn....I found a nice Illinois at a local antique clock shop but they want $200 for it. The owner of the shop said it is circa 1900 I'll post some pics later today. I've no idea what the going price for an antique watch is.
Sorry folks I'm a forum noob...still trying to get this figured out how to load photos.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/44489165@N05/4091333806/#in/set-72157622647244471/
My second option is a Charles Hubert: http://www.charleshubertpocketwatches.com/engrave-engraved-personalized/ch_3564MASTER_Winding_Charles_Hubert_Pocket_Watch_charleshubertpocketw_.htm

I like the "Skeleton" look and the Illinois doesn't have that but I like that the Illinois is antique. That said, I'd like to stay under $200 and get a solid mechanical pocket watch. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks for any advice.

Jac

Then I decided that maybe I should start a new thread for those interested in my mistakes and also what I've learned along the way. For the rest of you old hats at this topic, you can just chuckle at me as I learn how much has gone into making these intricate little guys.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2009, 03:59:12 am by Jacobi » Logged
Jacobi
Gunner

« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2009, 12:26:30 am »