The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 16, 2017, 05:53:33 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Making a Cage Skirt  (Read 8859 times)
Sayanette
Swab

United States United States

« on: November 04, 2009, 08:07:15 pm »

Hiya,

I'm going to be making a cage skirt for my lolita/steampunk outfit for Anime Boston in April. But I have no idea what type of material to use for my skirt. I'm looking for something cheap, or maybe even lying around the house (because I'm a new college student and now I'm broke).

I was hoping I could get some ideas on how to go about making my cage skirt. I want it to look like metal or brass, or something like that, without it being too heavy to wear all day/weekend.

If you have any ideas please let me know so I can get started on one of the last pieces of my outfit.

Thanks,
Sayanette
Mr. Boltneck
Zeppelin Admiral

« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2009, 10:51:16 pm »

Depending on where you are going to school, they may have a metal shop access policy. If you have access to tube bending equipment, then aluminum tubing could work. Otherwise, it's a bit hard to bend tubes accurately and without crumpling the walls; not entirely impossible, just difficult.
Alternatively, you could look at things like PVC pipe or electrical conduit from a hardware store, or thin-walled ABS irrigation line, which is available at a garden center. Both of these can be glued, and a variety of T-fittings and the like are available which may be useful. You would need to do some tests if you want to paint them though. There are some threads already on painting plastics. I will note that while I have used oil-sized metal leafing on larger diameter ABS pipe, I cannot recommend it as a general approach.
Bong294
Officer