The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 23, 2017, 05:13:14 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: a question about copper sheet  (Read 1779 times)
stardust
Zeppelin Captain
United Kingdom United Kingdom

friend of polar bear

« on: August 08, 2009, 03:07:34 pm »

sorry if this is a daft question, but i have never worked with copper before, so please excuse me.

can a sheet of 0.5mm thick copper be attached to another piece using a soldering iron to produce a similar line to a weld and is there any specific solder i would need to use or would regular solder be ok.

i have designed a simple copper lantern which could probably be joined using split pins which would look like rivets, but i want to attempt to produce a neat 'weld' as well. hope that makes sense!

and doesn't Mr. Kipling make exceedingly good cakes.......
JingleJoe
Zeppelin Overlord

The Green Dungeon Alchemist

« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2009, 03:25:09 pm »

Depends on the size of the sheet, it acts like a giant heat-sink so it takes a while for it to come to the correct temperature with a soldering iron, however it is possible Smiley You should sand the area you want the solder to go on so it is shiney and rough, this helps the solder to adhere. Upon completion of the joint you may also wish to use a steel file on the soldered area as it will most likely be bumpy (a wood file would probably go blunt Undecided)

you can solder almost any metal that has good enough heat conduction, but remember, soldering is not welding, do not get the two mixed up Smiley