The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 21, 2017, 01:24:03 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Resin casting problem  (Read 6102 times)
Buzzard Bait
Swab

United States United States

« on: March 12, 2009, 12:54:36 pm »

Hello to all,
I am very new at casting resins (polyester). I am having a problem with the finished casting retaining a sticky outer film after it has cured. I am using a RTV silicone mold and I am pre-heating the mold. I vacuum the mold after the resin is poured and then cover any exposed area. Even after 72 hours it retains a sticky film after it is removed. Is there something I am doing wrong?
Robo Von Bismark
Officer
Australia Australia

« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 02:00:28 pm »

Are you using the right type of polyester resin?

It comes as either casting or laminating resin. Casting resin has added wax content so that it can cure within the mold. If it the wrong type it will only cure on exposure to air (ie opening the mold)
Rev. Marx
Gunner

Nothing ever changes, unless there's some pain.

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 03:42:28 pm »

I occasionally get a similar problem with casting polyurethane. Usually it is because my mix ratio of resin to catalyst was off. I've never tried polyester, but perhaps you could be experiencing a similar situation.

WWW.MRXDESIGNS.COM            MRXDESIGNS.BLOGSPOT.COM           ROGUECTHULHU.ETSY.COM
Titus Wells
Zeppelin Captain
United Kingdom United Kingdom

Forward The Steamtomaton Apocalypse!

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2009, 04:38:03 pm »