The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 20, 2017, 07:06:11 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Some basic Leatherwork techniques...  (Read 5957 times)
Zwack
Zeppelin Admiral
United States United States

And introducing the wonderful Irish (Mrs Z).

« on: November 26, 2008, 06:24:53 pm »

Greetings,
I have finished making a leather laptop bag from scratch and while it isn't perfect (hey, I'm just a random amateur) I did my best to document the techniques used in the manufacture so that others might be able to see what they could do with leather.

To start I made a paper template of the same size as the laptop.  Thin card is better as it has more of the thickness of leather, but large quantities of newsprint are easier to find.  Once I had a template I went out and purchased a piece of leather big enough.  In my case I bought a double shoulder which was about 13 square feet.  This was the single most expensive part of the bag (unless you count my time).  I used 8-10oz leather for the bag as I felt it would provide some protection for the contents.  The resulting bag was more like a rigid satchel than a cloth bag.

Having made the template (so the design was fairly fixed) I cut the pieces out.  (Hopefully my web server isn't going to have problems with this... if it does then I might have to move them)

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Next I marked the leather where I was going to use a V-Gouge on it.  This cuts a V shaped groove into the leather so that you can then fold it more easily.