The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 21, 2017, 05:02:08 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Brassgoggles.co.uk - The Lighter Side Of Steampunk, follow @brasstech for forum technical problems & updates.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: One Expensive Song  (Read 1122 times)
Agito Novus
Snr. Officer
United States United States

Captain of the CSS Setzer

« on: July 21, 2008, 05:31:51 am »

This is my first attempt at a Steampunk story. For now, the introductory passage of it. More alter, but tell me what you think so far:

-----
“Four-of-a-kind! Beat that, you ugly son of a whore,” growled a man from a rickety chair.
“You crazy bastard, you’ve got two ace of spades! Get this mad git out of here,” snapped back a clean-looking dealer. As he snapped his words, he snapped his fingers, and a pair of women stepped out from behind the door.
“Wait! Just one more hand! I need that record!” protested the cheater. From the looks on their faces, it was clear that the ladies had understood his every word. The taller one, a brunette, reached towards a table and grabbed a record. Her companion, a prim dame with a green Mohawk, dragged the unfortunate man out the door.
“Now, we ain’t sick or twisted or no such, but this is business, that’s what it is. Your business is to stuff those cards in those silly contraptions of yers, and ours is to convince you not to. We diplomatic, we is,” spoke the brunette. “But seeing as we’s all colleagues and what not, let’s engage in a first name basis. I’m Tore, on account of being christened Victoria, and my junior partner is called Mangel. I hear it’s Prussian or some such. Let’s see your name, now.”