The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
December 17, 2017, 03:03:06 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is Steampunk Becoming Too Mainstream?  (Read 48124 times)
digitalboredom
Officer
United States United States

« Reply #75 on: July 06, 2008, 06:08:21 am »

... unintelligible gramer nd speling,...
It's "grammar and spelling." I didn't notice any other spelling errors, but I am not an expert at spelling, myself. Not to mention that I was not paying attention to the spelling until I caught this line....

Sincerely yours,

Doctor Z-kun.

I'm pretty sure he did that for effect

M.R. Sandrilious
 Overseer of the Institute for the Digitally Bored
   "Insert clever quotable here"
Robert Sandler
Officer

« Reply #76 on: July 06, 2008, 10:55:00 pm »

I would have to agree that it is not becoming mainstream.  During college orientation a couple weeks ago all the Electrical & Computer Engineering/Computer Science people were introducing themselves and I got crickets in the background when I mentioned that I was into steampunk.
Frankensteam
« Reply #77 on: July 06, 2008, 11:58:34 pm »

Other than view random things online such as this forum, I have never actually met another person that was into this genre.
Derranged-Gadgeteer
Snr. Officer

Only going to live twice

« Reply #78 on: July 07, 2008, 02:57:14 am »

I can't help but notice, even though steampunk itself may not be becoming mainstream, I do notice a gradual increase in the popularity of the victorian style in many things.  Furniture, clothing, movies, etc.  I personally would be worried of a neo-victorian fad in the mainstream which could do a number on those of us, the most devoted followers of our movement.