The Steampunk Forum at Brass Goggles
October 20, 2017, 11:35:51 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Support BrassGoggles! Donate once or $3/mo.
 See details here.

Home   Blog Help Rules Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is Steampunk Becoming Too Mainstream?  (Read 46976 times)
Clym Angus
Zeppelin Admiral
United Kingdom United Kingdom

Lord of Misrule

« Reply #300 on: November 02, 2015, 06:29:32 pm »

I understand your dismay, but I compare it to martial arts.

25 years I studied, taught, ate, slept, breathed it.  We had uniforms and it had a serious honor system of rank.

But every halloween kids and grown idiots dress like "ninja" and act the fool.

Does any of that tarnish the history and honor of having a grandmaster teach you in person?  Or does it reduce the student's hard won skill?

These "costume wearers" cant diminish the value of a hand sewn corsette or a well done prop.   In fact, consider the person as "showing interest" but in an ignorant way.   They might be taught better.

I promise if I show to a gathering with a chincy costume and,see it beside the works,of true makers, I would be inspired to do better.

Fair comment, If I may agree with a line or two from "The Dead Poets Society"

Hopkins: The cat sat on the mat.

Keating: Congratulations, Mr. Hopkins, yours is the first poem to have a negative score on the Pritchard scale. We're not laughing at you. We're laughing near you. I don't mind that your poem had a simple theme. Sometimes the most beautiful poetry can be about simple things, like a cat or a flower or rain. Poetry can come from anything with the stuff of revelation in it. Just don't let your poems be ordinary.

--------------------